Girly Take on Grilling and What I’ve Been Reading

For Memorial Day, my friends and I barbecued at mMa’s house and we decided to try to keep it healthy since it is swimsuit season. Instead of mashed potatoes or potato salad, we made cauliflower faux potatoes. Oh my gosh, they were so good! I’m not going to lie, I was skeptical since potatoes are my thing and cauliflower is most definitely not even on my top 100 things, but these were amazing and super easy to make. All you do is boil cauliflower until it is basically mushy and then put it in the blender. Add butter, sour cream, salt, and pepper to taste and then serve. The only difference is the consistency but I swear you couldn’t even tell. We even served it to guys and they liked it! A big hit overall!

 

On another note, I just finished both On The Island by Tracey Garvis Graves and The Man of My Dreams by Curtis Sittenfeld and they were both really good. I saw On The Island on Kindle special for $2.99 so I jumped on it and while it is definitely not deep by any means, it is a really cute beach read. It also has a lot of twists that I didn’t see coming. As for The Man of My Dreams, I remember reading Prep by Sittenfeld a few years ago and really liked it so I gave this one a try. I think it is a great coming of age story and I saw a lot of parallels to my own life :). It also has a surprise ending and while I’m not sure I really loved the ending, it is definitely realistic. Another great beach read which reminds me, I really need to actually go to the beach and read soon!

xoxo

kBp

Leave a Reply

